For a 12V trolling motor, a 100Ah LiFePO4 lithium battery in a Group 31 case is the sweet spot: 22–28 lb, 100 amps continuous, and roughly 4–5 hours at half speed on a 55 lb motor. Budget lithium now costs $270–$340, while premium brands with 10–11 year warranties run $650–$900.
Our picks
- Best value: Redodo 12V 100Ah Plus Bluetooth: 100A BMS, Bluetooth and IP65 for around $270.
- Best for tournament anglers on a budget: LiTime 12V 100Ah TM: 23.4 lb, 100A continuous, 300A for 5 seconds.
- Best warranty: Ionic 12V 100Ah: 11-year warranty, Bluetooth app, 100A continuous.
- Best for cold weather: Vatrer 12V 100Ah Heated: self-heating, charges down to -4°F.
- Best premium build: RELiON RB100: IP67, 10-year warranty, controlled charging below freezing.
- Best for kayaks: LiTime 12V 50Ah TM Smart: about 11.3 lb with Bluetooth.
- Most runtime in one battery: LiTime 12V 165Ah Self-Heating: 150A continuous, Group 31 size, 33.5 lb.
- Best AGM: Odyssey 31M: 103Ah, but 77.8 lb.
12V battery comparison
| Battery | Ah | Weight | Continuous | Cold charging | BT | IP | Warranty | Approx. price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Redodo 100Ah Plus Bluetooth | 100 | 22.8 lb | 100 A | Cutoff below 32°F | Yes | IP65 | 5 yr | $270 |
| LiTime 100Ah TM | 100 | 23.4 lb | 100 A | Cutoff below 32°F | No | IP65 | 5 yr | $290–$340 |
| LiTime 100Ah TM Smart | 100 | 22.2 lb | 100 A | Cutoff below 32°F | Yes | IP65 | 5 yr | $300–$360 |
| Vatrer 100Ah Heated | 100 | 24.2 lb | 100 A | Self-heating, to -4°F | Yes | IP65 | see maker | $280 |
| Ionic 100Ah | 100 | 28 lb | 100 A | Avoid below 32°F | Yes | not stated | 11 yr | $650 |
| Battle Born BB10012 | 100 | 31 lb | 100 A | Heated version sold | not stated | IP65 | 10 yr | $800 |
| RELiON RB100 | 100 | 26.4 lb | 100 A | Reduced rate to -4°F | No | IP67 | 10 yr | $900 |
| LiTime 50Ah TM Smart | 50 | 11.3 lb | 50 A | Cutoff below 32°F | Yes | IP65 | 5 yr | $215 |
| Dakota DL+ 60Ah | 60 | 16.5 lb | 100 A | Internal heater | not stated | not stated | 11 yr | $600 |
| Dakota DL+ 135Ah | 135 | 27.2 lb | 135 A | Internal heater | Yes | not stated | 11 yr | $1,220 |
| LiTime 165Ah Self-Heating | 165 | 33.5 lb | 150 A | Self-heating, to -4°F | Yes | IP67 | 5 yr | $530–$590 |
| Optima BlueTop D31M (AGM) | 75 | 60 lb | n/a | n/a | No | n/a | 2 yr | $400–$460 |
| Odyssey 31M (AGM) | 103 | 77.8 lb | n/a | n/a | No | n/a | 4 yr | $650 |
"Cutoff" means the battery's BMS refuses to charge below freezing and resumes once it warms up. "Self-heating" batteries warm their own cells so they can charge in the cold.
How long each size runs a 12V motor
Estimated continuous runtime on a typical 55 lb, 12V motor (about 52 A at full throttle):
| Battery | At 30% speed | At 50% speed |
|---|---|---|
| 50Ah lithium | ~4.9 hr | ~2.2 hr |
| 100Ah lithium | ~10.2 hr | ~4.6 hr |
| 135Ah lithium | ~14 hr | ~6.3 hr |
| 165Ah lithium | ~17 hr | ~7.7 hr |
| 103Ah AGM (Odyssey 31M) | — | ~1.9 hr |
Best value: Redodo 12V 100Ah Plus Bluetooth
The Redodo matches the spec sheet of batteries that cost twice as much: 100Ah, a 100A BMS with a 500A one-second surge, Bluetooth monitoring, an IP65 rating and a low-temperature charge cutoff, in a standard Group 31 case at about 22.8 lb. The 5-year warranty is the main trade-off against premium brands.
Best on a budget for tournaments: LiTime 12V 100Ah TM
LiTime's trolling-motor model is MLF certified and has one of the strongest surge ratings in its price class: 100A continuous, 300A for 5 seconds and 500A for 1 second, which helps when you punch the throttle. It weighs 23.4 lb. If you want Bluetooth, the TM Smart version adds it and is slightly lighter at 22.2 lb.
Best warranty: Ionic 12V 100Ah
Ionic is a long-time favorite among bass anglers, and its 11-year warranty is double what budget brands offer. It has a 100A BMS with a 200A pulse rating and the Ionic Blue app for monitoring. At 28 lb it's a few pounds heavier than the value picks, and it costs about twice as much.
Best for cold weather: Vatrer 12V 100Ah Heated
Lithium batteries shouldn't charge below freezing. The Vatrer solves that with built-in heating that turns on from the charger below 32°F, so it can charge down to -4°F. It still has a 100A BMS, Bluetooth and IP65 for about $280, making it the cheapest way to get self-heating. Check Vatrer's warranty policy before you buy; the product page links to it rather than stating the term.
Best premium build: RELiON RB100
RELiON is a long-established lithium brand, and the RB100 is built for harsh use: IP67 water and dust protection, a 10-year warranty, and a BMS that throttles charging rather than cutting it off in the cold (10A from 14–32°F, 5A down to -4°F). It's 26.4 lb with 100A continuous. No Bluetooth.
Best for kayaks: LiTime 12V 50Ah TM Smart
At about 11.3 lb and 7.7 inches long, this fits kayak hulls where a Group 31 box won't. It has a 50A BMS and Bluetooth. That covers a 30–40 lb kayak motor. A 55 lb motor draws about 50 A at full throttle, right at this battery's limit, so run it below full speed. Expect around 5 hours at 30% speed on a 55 lb motor.
Most runtime: LiTime 12V 165Ah Self-Heating
If you'd rather not run two batteries in parallel, this packs 165Ah into a Group 31 case at 33.5 lb, with a 150A BMS, self-heating, Bluetooth and IP67. It's also rated to start an outboard (1,200 CCA). Expect around 7–8 hours at half speed on a 55 lb motor.
If you want AGM
AGM batteries cost less up front per rated amp-hour but deliver only about half their capacity before you should recharge. The Odyssey 31M has 103Ah and a 220-minute reserve capacity, but weighs 77.8 lb. The Optima BlueTop D31M is lighter at about 60 lb but has 75Ah. For the same usable energy, a 100Ah lithium weighs about a third as much.
What about Dakota Lithium?
Dakota's 12V 100Ah deep-cycle battery was showing out of stock or pre-order on Dakota's site when we checked, and dealer specs for it disagree. Dakota's newer DL+ dual-purpose line is available: the 60Ah weighs just 16.5 lb with a 100A BMS and an 11-year warranty, a good fit for kayaks and small motors if you want a premium brand.
FAQ
What size battery do I need for a 55 lb trolling motor?
A 100Ah lithium battery covers most half-day and many full-day trips. Choose one with at least a 60A BMS so it won't shut off at full throttle; all the 100Ah batteries here are rated 100A.
Is Group 31 the right size?
Most 12V 100Ah lithium batteries use a Group 31 footprint, about 13 × 6.8 inches, which fits standard marine battery boxes. Dakota's batteries are shorter, Group 24 size.
Do I need a special charger?
Yes, use a charger with a lithium (LiFePO4) profile. A lead-acid charger can undercharge lithium.
See also: best 24V batteries · best 36V batteries · Minn Kota battery guide
Sources (checked October 13, 2026): Redodo; LiTime 100Ah TM, 100Ah TM Smart, 50Ah TM Smart, 165Ah; Vatrer; Ionic via Mealey Marine and BatteryMart; Battle Born and Explorist.life; RELiON RB100; Dakota DL+ 60Ah and DL+ 135Ah; Optima D31M; Odyssey 31M.